Simon Hogert & Emily Monk – “Don’t tell Mum – hair-raising messages home from gap-year travellers”

As I can start counting down the days  my pratical semester will last I was curious about experiences others make when being away from home and this amusing collection of email extracts just seemed perfect to satisfy my curiousitiy.

And it was! Though – as you probably know – I’m not British I’ve grown up with quite similar expectations about countries outside Europe and being of the same age (the book says the typical age is 17 to 21 – so I’m still in range) as the gappers cited made me laugh even more. The emails’ recipient isn’t always mentioned, but one can guess that epical party descriptions with summing up the amount of alcohol being drunk isn’t meant for parents (or at least shouldn’t be), while staying in hospital and complaining about the expanses for this in foreign countries probably is as well as falling madly in love with a person just met before once. So the last part of the book allows to show how some emails were responsed, e.g. a father writing to his daugther in New Zealand that he only wants to know about her bungee jumping after she survived it.

And then there’s this one email where the writer insists in capital letters what he wrote shouldn’t be told to his mum – but reassured, if she would read it, that the told story wasn’t true (for his father he added that it actually was). Yes, don’t tell mum – and to be more precisely – add my grandmother as well for she was the one buying this book. It found it’s way to my shelf by my father reading it and finally explained to me why she was so concerned about me moving out for half a year to a place 300 kilometres away with no one there to take care of me. I swear I wouldn’t do (most of) the things described in the book!

Anyhow it inspired me to sum up some of my experiences of my practical semester for you in the next 20 days – look forward to it.

Were you a gap year traveller or at least heard funny stories by others?

This entry was posted in Books, English, nicht fiktional and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

